Premieres

The Performa Premieres program, launched in 2009 with artists including Tacita Dean, William Kentridge, and Joan Jonas, presents exceptional live work that has never been seen in New York. Working closely with each artist, Performa finds the perfect venue for every project, tailoring it especially for the unique context of New York City.

Viewing as: Thumbnails · List
Related Event Title Date & Time Description Price
Robert Ashley
That Morning Thing
  • Sat. Nov 19, 8:00 pm
  • Sun. Nov 20, 3:00 pm
  • Sun. Nov 20, 8:00 pm
  • Mon. Nov 21, 8:00 pm
For his Performa Premiere, Robert Ashley—a pioneer of opera-for-television and mixed media musical theater—will present That Morning Thing (1967), an opera in three acts for men’s and women's speaking voices and eight dancers. $30
Buy TicketsBuy Tickets
Ben Kinmont
An Exhibition in Your Mouth
  • Tue. Nov 15, 6:30 pm
A six course menu of recipes ranging from a Futurist dish to cheeses based on Sol Lewitt’s “Forms Derived from a Cube.” Price: Tickets cost $65.00 (which covers food and gratuity but not wine). Space is limited. Reservations: please contact Isa at: +1 347 689 3594. Last reservation at 10 pm.
Boris Charmatz
Musée de la Danse: Expo Zéro
  • Fri. Nov 4, 5:00 pm
  • Sat. Nov 5, 12:00 pm
  • Sun. Nov 6, 12:00 pm
A unique interactive experience that radicalizes the history and future of dance through a "museum of dance" comprised of gestures, projects, bodies, stories, and dances. Free.
Mai-Thu Perret
Love Letters in Ancient Brick
  • Thu. Nov 3, 8:00 pm
  • Fri. Nov 4, 8:00 pm
  • Sat. Nov 5, 8:00 pm
Comic-strip dance adaptation of George Herriman’s Krazy Kat, a love triangle between a cat, a mouse, and a dog. $15
Buy TicketsBuy Tickets
Nathaniel Mellors
Ourhouse
  • Wed. Nov 16, 8:00 pm
  • Thu. Nov 17, 8:00 pm
A surreal four-part video series combining sculpture, language, and domestic power dynamics. $10
Buy TicketsBuy Tickets